Renfrewshire Council

Final preparations underway in Renfrewshire for Scottish Parliamentary election

Final preparations are underway in Renfrewshire as voters, election officials and candidates prepare for Thursday's Scottish Parliamentary election.

A total of 151,650 people are eligible to vote in one of three constituencies - Paisley, Renfrewshire North and West, and Renfrewshire South - which each elect one MSP under the first-past-the-post voting method.

Local electors will also vote for parties in the West Scotland Region where seven MSPs will be elected under a system of proportional representation.

The Paisley constituency, which includes Paisley East, Ralston, Paisley South and Paisley West, has 51,673 electors, of whom 11,049 have applied for postal votes

Renfrewshire North and West includes Renfrew, Gallowhill, Bridge of Weir, Bishopton, Inchinnan, and parts of Inverclyde East. The constituency has an electorate of 50,555, of whom 9968 applied for postal votes.

Renfrewshire South includes Johnstone South and North, Elderslie, Kilbarchan, parts of Linwood (shared with Renfrewshire North and West), Barrhead and parts of Newton Mearns.

49,422 people can vote in Renfrewshire South and 9372 of them have applied for postal ballots.

Election day begins at 7am when 185 polling stations open with voting continuing until 10pm.

The polling stations include schools, community centres, churches, a bowling club, a hotel, sports pavilion, Tweedie Hall in Linwood and Renfrew Town Hall.

Shortly after 10pm the focus of attention will switch to Braehead Arena where approximately 400 staff will be working at the count.

Over 70 vans will deliver the ballot boxes to arena where the votes cast at polling stations will be counted alongside postal votes.

Returning officer Sandra Black, chief executive of Renfrewshire Council, will announce the results in the early hours of Friday morning.